It was the Kate Ebrahim and Cameron Fletcher show on Friday the 13th at the annual Canterbury Cricket Awards Evening as they both claimed all but one of their respective team awards. They both received for their respective teams the Batter of the Year, Player’s Player Award and Player of the Year Awards.  Unfortunately Kate was unable to attend the evening but husband Dion Ebrahim who is the Performance Squad Coach at Canterbury Cricket claimed her silverware for her.


They both missed out on the Bowler of the Year Award which is no surprise for Cam but Kate was a finalist in this category. Leg Break bowler, Erin Bermingham claimed this award for the Canterbury Magicians after another dominant season and fellow spin bowler Tim Johnston received the Bowler of the Year award for the Canterbury Men’s team.


The night was well run by debutant MC Willy Nicholls, following in the footsteps of Malcolm Ellis in true Canterbury family favouritism style. Chief Executive Jez Curwin took the stage and thanked all those involved in our game right from grassroots to our top teams. Trevor Thornton spoke on behalf of the Canterbury Cricket Trust outlining the exciting plans for the Hagley Sports Centre and the transformation that will take place turning it into an Indoor Training facility for all.


In 2014 the Red & Black Club was introduced to acknowledge people who have contributed to the Association in various ways. This year our inductee was Sir Richard Hadlee. Past player and Board Chairman, Cran Bull, who played alongside Sir Richard gave an incredible insight into Sir Richard’s playing career and welcomed him into this club.


We also celebrated the wonderful milestone of Todd Astle & Andrew Ellis both playing their 100th First Class game for Canterbury. They became the 4th & 5th players to achieve this phenomenal achievement. The longevity & loyalty of these two players has helped the province immensely over the past decade and assisted in winning titles as well as the development of players around them.


View Photos from the night on our Canterbury Cricket Facebook Page


Canterbury Magicians Player of the Year Kate Ebrahim
Canterbury Men’s Player of the Year Cameron Fletcher
Bowler of the Year Erin Bermingham
Tim Johnston
Batter of the Year Kate Ebrahim
Cameron Fletcher
Player’s Player Kate Ebrahim
Cameron Fletcher
Red & Black Club Inductee Sir Richard Hadlee
100 First Class Games for Canterbury
#4 – Todd Astle
#5 – Andrew Ellis
Special Awards (Maiden Century/5 wicket bag for Canterbury)
Blake Coburn: 7-64 v Northern Districts – Plunket Shield
Henry Shipley: 5-37 v Wellington – Plunket Shield
Michael Pollard: 119 v Northern Districts – Ford Trophy
Ken McClure: 210 v Auckland – Plunket Shield
Cameron Fletcher: 100* v Auckland – Plunket Shield
Michael Davidson: 101* v Otago – Plunket Shield


Comments are closed.