Canterbury Cricket have announced 14 players in the first round of the Domestic Cricket contracting process.  Two more players are due to be announced on 30th June.


There are some of the usual names you expect of late on a Canterbury list such as Ellis, Fletcher, Bowes, McConchie, Jamieson and Nuttall, mixed with some exciting and new talent.


Four players are on the Canterbury contract list for the first time; Blake Coburn (left arm wrist spinner), Theo van Woerkom (left arm orthodox spinner), Andrew Hazeldine (left arm medium-fast bowler) have all earnt their first Canterbury contract through promising performances in matches last season.  Canterbury Head Coach Gary Stead commented, “the new players on our list thoroughly deserve their contract offers and I hope will have long and successful careers as Canterbury cricketers. There is much to like with the skillsets these players have and there is definitely some uniqueness in each of these players.”


Stephen Murdoch (RH top order batsman) is the fourth new player offered a contract, who will be moving south from Wellington with a family shift. Stead commented, “Steve will bring us some leadership and hopefully many runs in the top order, something we lacked a little last year since Peter Fulton’s retirement.”


The 14 players being offered contracts in the first round are:


  • Chad Bowes
  • Blake Coburn
  • Leo Carter
  • Andrew Ellis
  • Cameron Fletcher
  • Andrew Hazeldine
  • Kyle Jamieson
  • Ken McClure
  • Cole McConchie
  • Stephen Murdoch
  • Ed Nuttall
  • Henry Shipley
  • Will Williams
  • Theo van Woerkom


Canterbury also have 4 players who are centrally contracted – Tom Latham, Matt Henry, Todd Astle and Henry Nicholls.

Comments are closed.